Before the procedure, the doctor must give all the recommendations, tell the patient about the course of the study and the possible risks.

And if you are just planning endoscopic diagnostics and want to get to know this study better, then our article will answer many questions. We would like to thank the head of the endoscopy department, Dr. med. Sciences, endoscopist Ivanova Ekaterina Viktorovna.

Are there any dietary restrictions on the day before the procedure?

You need to prepare for any endoscopy, and gastroscopy is no exception. Before the study, you must limit food intake. If gastroscopy is performed in the morning, then the last meal is recommended in the evening, no later than 7 pm, although the intake of fluids before bed is not limited. In the morning you have to be on an empty stomach. If you follow this recommendation, the stomach will be empty during the procedure, which will make it possible to conduct an informative study and get reliable results.

What about drinking?

If a person goes to gastroscopy, it is better not to drink for several hours (at least 2 hours), otherwise there will be too much liquid in the stomach, which will impair visualization. In addition, during the study, people may behave in different ways: accidentally burp, cough, or start pushing. Because of this, intra-abdominal pressure rises, and stomach contents can pass from the esophagus through inhalation into the airways, increasing the risk of complications.

Can the intestines "shrink with fear" and complicate the procedure?

Yes it is possible. Emotional factors can cause spasm. The intestine contracts. If this happens, we try to straighten it by injecting gas or water into the lumen. We see this by the characteristic whitish mucous membrane of spasmodic folds of the intestine, which can complicate the study. Visibility is impaired, and a neoplasm or superficial ulceration may not be noticed behind the folds.

To prevent this from happening, it is worth premedication or injecting an antispasmodic, or even better, so that fear does not arise, a study should be carried out with intravenous anesthesia - in a dream.

How long does the procedure take?

A standard esophagogastroduodenoscopy takes 10-15 minutes.

What if you want to swallow during the procedure?

Don't worry about that. During the examination, the patient's head is placed in such a way that saliva can passively drain through the corner of the mouth. If a person swallows, he will feel the apparatus, and reflexes may occur. This is undesirable, but not scary. The procedure will continue when the patient has calmed down.

Can an anesthetic pill consumed per day affect the results of the study?

If you had a headache the day before the gastroscopy and you had to take a pill, this will not affect the study in any way.

The effects of taking analgesics become visible if taken on a regular basis. In this case, during gastroscopy, we often diagnose erosive and ulcerative changes in the gastric mucosa.

During the diagnostic study "in a dream" the patient is under the influence of anesthetic, will it hurt after?

If the intervention proceeded smoothly and without complications, there should be no pain or discomfort.

But if there was an increased intestinal tone, and the study was carried out with the introduction of air, then the patient may wake up with a feeling of distention or distention of the intestine. In our clinic, we perform endoscopy using carbon dioxide (CO2), which dissolves quickly and the patient does not feel any discomfort after the examination.

When can I eat after the procedure?

After gastroscopy without anesthesia, you can immediately drink and eat. If lidocaine has been used, it is recommended to wait 10-15 minutes for the local anesthetic to heal.

Specialists

All specialists
Fedorov
Eugene Dmitrievich

Chief Consultant for Endoscopy, Endoscopist Surgeon

Doctor of Sciences, PhD, professor

Ivanova
Ekaterina Victorovna

Head of endoscopy department, endoscopist

Doctor of Sciences, PhD

Seleznev
Denis Evgenyevich

Head of endoscopy department, endoscopist

Ответы на вопросы

Перед процедурой врач обязательно дает все рекомендации, рассказывает пациенту о ходе исследования и возможных рисках.

А если вы только планируете эндоскопическую диагностику и хотите познакомиться с этим исследованием поближе, то наша статья даст ответы на многие вопросы. Благодарим за подготовку материала заведующего отделением эндоскопии, доктора мед. наук, врача-эндоскописта Иванову Екатерину Викторовну.

Есть ли какие-то ограничения по питанию за день до процедуры?

К любой эндоскопии надо готовиться, и гастроскопия – не исключение. Перед исследованием необходимо ограничить прием пищи. Если гастроскопия проводится утром, то последний прием пищи рекомендуется вечером, не позднее 19 часов, хотя прием жидкостей до сна не ограничен. Утром надо быть натощак. Если следовать этой рекомендации, желудок во время процедуры будет пустым, что даст возможность провести информативное исследование и получить достоверные результаты.

А что насчет питья?

Если человек идет на гастроскопию, то лучше не пить за несколько часов (минимум за 2 часа), иначе в желудке будет слишком много жидкости, которая ухудшит визуализацию. Помимо этого, во время исследования люди могут вести себя по-разному: случайно срыгнуть, закашлять, или начать тужиться. Из-за этого повышается внутрибрюшное давление, и содержимое желудка может попасть из пищевода через вдох в дыхательные пути, повышая риск осложнений.

Может ли кишечник “сжаться от страха” и усложнить процедуру?

Да, это возможно. Под действием эмоциональных факторов может произойти спазм. Кишка сжимается. Если это происходит, мы пытаемся ее расправить, вводя газ или воду в просвет. Мы это видим по характерной белесой слизистой спазмированных складок кишки, которые могут затруднять проведение исследования. Ухудшается видимость, за складками можно не заметить новообразование или неглубокое изъязвление.

Чтобы этого не происходило, стоит провести премедикацию или ввести спазмолитик, а ещё лучше, чтобы не возникало страха, следует провести исследование с внутривенной анестезией – во сне.

Сколько времени занимает процедура?

Стандартная эзофагогастродуоденоскопия занимает 10-15 минут.

Как быть, если захочется сглотнуть во время процедуры?

Об этом переживать не стоит. Во время исследования голова пациента укладывается таким образом, чтобы слюна могла пассивно стекать через уголок рта. Если человек сглотнет, он почувствует аппарат, и могут возникнуть рефлексы. Это нежелательно, но не страшно. Процедура продолжится, когда пациент успокоится.

Может ли выпитая за сутки таблетка обезболивающего повлиять на результаты исследования?

Если за день до гастроскопии у вас разболелась голова и пришлось выпить таблетку, то это никак не повлияет на исследование.

Последствия приема анальгетиков становятся видимыми, если принимать их на регулярной основе. В этом случае во время гастроскопии мы зачастую диагностируем эрозивно-язвенные изменения слизистой оболочки желудка.

Во время диагностического исследования «во сне» пациент находится под действием обезболивающего, будет ли больно после?

Если вмешательство проходило гладко и без осложнений, боли и дискомфорта быть не должно.

А вот если был повышенный тонус кишечника, и исследование выполнялось с введением воздуха, то пациент может проснуться с ощущением распирания или вздутия кишки. В нашей клинике мы проводим эндоскопию с использованием углекислого газа (CO2), который быстро рассасывается, и неприятных ощущений после исследования пациент не ощущает.

Когда можно будет поесть после процедуры?

После гастроскопии без анестезии можно сразу же пить и кушать. Если использовался лидокаин, то рекомендуется подождать 10-15 минут, пока не пройдет местная анестезия.

Специалисты

Все специалисты
Фёдоров
Евгений Дмитриевич

Главный консультант по эндоскопии, хирург-эндоскопист

Доктор медицинских наук, профессор

Иванова
Екатерина Викторовна

Заведующий отделением эндоскопии, врач-эндоскопист

Доктор медицинских наук

Селезнев
Денис Евгеньевич

Заведующий отделением эндоскопии, врач-эндоскопист

Гладышев
Александр Александрович

Врача-эндоскопист

Кандидат медицинских наук